24 May 2021


The League Managers Association is delighted to announce that its members have voted Pep Guardiola (Manchester City) as this year’s recipient of the Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy for the LMA Manager of the Year. The award, voted for by the full LMA membership, was exclusively revealed live on a special Sky Sports LMA Annual Awards programme this evening (Monday 24th May). The five other managers who received the most votes to be in contention for this award were, in alphabetical order, Marcelo Bielsa (Leeds United), Daniel Farke (Norwich City), Emma Hayes MBE (Chelsea), David Moyes (West Ham United) and Brendan Rodgers (Leicester City).

Recently crowned division champions Daniel Farke (Sky Bet Championship - Norwich City), Grant McCann (Sky Bet League One - Hull City)Michael Duff (Sky Bet League Two - Cheltenham Town) and Jonathan Morgan (The FA Women's Championship - Leicester City) were also voted for by their peers as Manager of the Year in their respective leagues.

Emma Hayes MBE won Barclays FA WSL Manager of the Year, following a voting process involving WSL Managers, an esteemed Barclays panel of respected individuals within women's football and a public vote. Emma also becomes the first manager from the Women’s game to be amongst the top six contenders for the LMA Manager of the Year award.

Steven Gerrard MBE (Rangers) was presented with the LMA Special Achievement Award sponsored by Prostate Cancer UK. Steven is recognised by the LMA for going undefeated throughout the entire Scottish Premiership season - an invincible season to win the league title.

On being presented with his trophy, Pep Guardiola said:“ I am delighted to win the LMA Manager of the Year award for the second time. It is, for me, such a special trophy to win because it is voted for by my fellow managers. An award like this is only possible though if a manager is surrounded by top professionals.

“My players have been fantastic – their dedication and professionalism never wavered, even in a season that has been the most challenging we have ever faced.

“And my staff are also deserving of the highest praise. I am so lucky to have a team of people who give everything they have every single day to make sure Manchester City are the best we can be.

“This award is dedicated to and shared with them.”

LMA Chairman, Howard Wilkinson, said: "Many congratulations to Pep on winning his second LMA Manager of the Year award, following a season which epitomises his career to date. He never gives up, he is humble in victory and defeat and he is always respectful of his opponents, who in turn have shown him the ultimate respect in voting for him to win this award.

"His statistics over a 30-year career at the very highest level may never be equalled. In his ninth league title win as a manager, he has shown his ability to adapt and mould his team, to find a different way to play. And once they hit top form, Pep and his team keep their feet firmly on the ground and are relentless in their will to win matches and trophies.

“He is a real lesson to all aspiring managers in the art of leadership and remaining true to your beliefs and to yourself.”

LMA Executive Committee member Sir Alex Ferguson CBE added: “Many Congratulations Pep on being voted, by your fellow managers, as the winner of the LMA Manager of the Year 2021. Your accomplishments this season, have once again, been outstanding. Your team has played wonderful football and I applaud you for winning your third Premier League title, your fourth Carabao Cup in successive seasons and taking Manchester City to their first Champions League Final. 

“As well as being a truly gifted manager and leader, you always display admirable humility and composure and I am sure your family must be very proud of you. 

“On a personal note, I would like to thank you for your valuable support of the League Managers Association which is much appreciated by your fellow LMA members.”

LMA Chief Executive Richard Bevan added: "Pep has continued to set new benchmarks in the English game. His innovative coaching methods have led his team to challenge in all competitions, winning the Premier League and Carabao Cup, reaching the semi-final of The FA Cup and the final of the UEFA Champions League for the first time in the club's history. He is an inspiration for all managers and coaches in the game and a valued member of the LMA.

“Tonight we celebrate the successes and efforts of all of our members over the course of one of the most difficult seasons in the history of the modern game. We congratulate Pep, Michael, Daniel, Emma, Grant, Jonathan and Steven for the outstanding accomplishments they have achieved this season. And we congratulate every professional across football, that has contributed to the safe and successful return of football at all levels of the English professional game.

"Finally, we thank Sky Sports for their support of the awards and for another excellent live broadcast this evening. We also thank league award sponsors Barclays and Sky Bet, and Prostate Cancer UK for sponsoring the LMA Special Achievement award. Finally, thanks to our awards partners Premier League, Castrol, Nike, and Thomas Lyte, who have supplied the stunning trophies for our managers to cherish."

The full list of LMA Annual Awards Winners 2020/21 is as follows:

The Sir Alex Ferguson trophy for the
LMA Manager of the Year:

Pep Guardiola (Manchester City)

Barclays FA Women's Super League Manager of the Year:
Emma Hayes MBE (Chelsea)

The FA Women's Championship Manager of the Year:
Jonathan Morgan (Leicester City)

Sky Bet Championship Manager of the Year:
Daniel Farke (Norwich City)

Sky Bet League One Manager of the Year:
Grant McCann (Hull City)

Sky Bet League Two Manager of the Year:
Michael Duff (Cheltenham Town)

LMA Special Achievement Award sponsored by Prostate Cancer UK
Steven Gerrard MBE (Rangers)