10 Sep 2021


The League Managers Association (LMA) congratulates José Mourinho on his induction into the LMA Hall of Fame 1000 Club.

José becomes only the 33rd manager in the modern era of European football to have reached the landmark of 1000 competitive matches. He reaches this milestone on 12th September when Roma face Sassuolo in the Serie A.

José was previously inducted into the LMA Hall of Fame in 2010, in recognition of his outstanding contribution to football management.

During his time in professional management, José has coached 10 European teams across four top leagues, including Benfica, União de Leiria,  FC Porto, two spells at Chelsea, Inter Milan, Real Madrid, Manchester United, Tottenham Hotspur and his current club Roma, winning a domestic title in all four countries.

José is one of the world’s most accomplished managers, having won 25 titles with a remarkable overall win rate of 63.76%. He has won the UEFA Champions League with two clubs, FC Porto in 2004 and Inter Milan in 2010, and is also a three-time Premier League Champion with Chelsea (2005, 2006, 2015).

LMA Committee and 1000 Club member Sir Alex Ferguson CBE, paying tribute to José's achievement, said: “Reaching 1000 matches as a manager will be such a proud day for both José and his family and rightly so.

"To reach this landmark as a manager is an outstanding accomplishment for José, particularly whilst excelling and winning titles in four European leagues and of course winning two Champions League trophies along the way. José’s achievements will always ensure that he is acknowledged as one of the managerial greats.

"On behalf of the League Managers Association, congratulations and welcome to the Hall of Fame 1000 Club José."

Speaking ahead of his 1000th match, José Mourinho said: “I am obviously very pleased to be reaching the milestone of 1000 matches managed this weekend, but at the same time it is always in my nature to be looking forward to the next match instead of dwelling on those precious matches that I have experienced so far in my career. 

“To be inducted into the League Managers Association 1000 Club is an achievement that I am proud of and I thank the LMA for remembering this milestone and the many matches my teams have won during this time.”

LMA Chairman Howard Wilkinson said: “José is one of his generation's most successful and respected managers. In joining the LMA Hall of Fame 1000 Club, he adds longevity to his array of managerial attributes which have enabled him to win an incredible 25 trophies in the past two decades.

“Whilst he may not have spent the entirety of his career in England, he has been a cherished member of the LMA since he arrived at Chelsea in 2004. He has blessed the Premier League and English football with his tactical expertise on three occasions and it is my honour to recognise his career to date and congratulate him, on behalf of his peers in the LMA.” 

LMA Chief Executive Richard Bevan said: "On behalf of all at the LMA, I congratulate José on this outstanding milestone achievement.

"The LMA Hall of Fame 1000 Club is a celebration of success and longevity. In a profession where time can often be an all too rare commodity, José has exhibited an enduring quality, achieving a truly prodigious amount."

The LMA will present José with a special award and formally induct him into the LMA Hall of Fame 1000 Club at a special dinner when circumstances permit. 

LMA Hall of Fame 1000 Club Members:

- Sam Allardyce
- Carlo Ancelotti
- Len Ashurst
- Ron Atkinson
- Dave Bassett
- Rafa Benitez
- Alan Buckley
- Sir Matt Busby CBE
- Brian Clough OBE
- Steve Coppell
- Sven-Göran Eriksson
- Sir Alex Ferguson CBE
- Dario Gradi MBE
- Roy Hodgson CBE
- Brian Horton
- Lennie Lawrence
- Mick McCarthy
- Lawrie McMenemy MBE
- José Mourinho
- Tony Pulis
- Claudio Ranieri
- Harry Redknapp
- Sir Bobby Robson CBE
- Joe Royle
- Denis Smith
- Jim Smith
- Alec Stock
- Graham Taylor OBE
- John Toshack MBE
- Graham Turner
- Neil Warnock
- Arsène Wenger OBE
- Danny Wilson