25 May 2022


The League Managers Association is delighted to announce that its members have voted Jürgen Klopp (Liverpool) as this year’s recipient of the Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy for the LMA Manager of the Year. The award, voted for by the full LMA membership, was presented to the Liverpool Manager at the 30th LMA Annual Awards Dinner by LMA President Gareth Southgate OBE and LMA Board member Sir Alex Ferguson CBE. The five other managers who received the most votes to be in contention for this award were, in alphabetical order, Steve Cooper (Nottingham Forest), Pep Guardiola (Manchester City), Eddie Howe (Newcastle United), Nathan Jones (Luton Town) and David Moyes (West Ham United).

Recently promoted managers Marco Silva (Sky Bet Championship - Fulham)Leam Richardson (Sky Bet League One - Wigan Athletic)Matt Taylor (Sky Bet League Two - Exeter City) and Matt Beard (The FA Women's Championship - Liverpool FC) were also voted for by their peers as Manager of the Year in their respective leagues.

Jürgen Klopp (Liverpool) won the Premier League Manager of the Year, sponsored by Barclays, following a panel and public vote.

Emma Hayes OBE (Chelsea) won the Barclays FA WSL Manager of the Year, following a voting process involving WSL Managers, an esteemed Barclays panel of respected individuals within women's football and a public vote. 

Dr Sally Harris (HCA Healthcare UK) was presented with the LMA Special Recognition Award for her outstanding and ongoing support of the LMA Wellness programmes.

Kath Phipps (Manchester United) was presented with the LMA Service to Football Award for her outstanding long service at Manchester United Football Club where in September she will have worked for 54 years as the club receptionist. 

Chris Ramsey MBE and Manisha Tailor MBE (QPR) were presented with the Kick It Out and Sky Inclusion Champion Award for changing the face of academy coaching in football for groups that are underrepresented in many aspects of football.

On being presented with the Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy for the LMA Manager of the Year, Jürgen Klopp said: "To be voted the winner of the LMA Manager of the Year Award by my colleagues is really important to me.

"I celebrate this award with my team of coaches and staff. I believe football is a team sport and I would be nothing without my team. It's all about what you do together.

"We knew that we would be better this year but I had no idea that we would be this good consistently. I am really proud of the boys for what they have achieved."

LMA Chairman, Howard Wilkinson, said: "Many congratulations to Jürgen Klopp on winning the LMA Manager of the Year Award for a second time.

"To have competed until the very end across four competitions in a season, winning two trophies, and being on the verge of an unprecedented domestic and continental cup treble shows the relentless consistency of his team.

"Jürgen's peers have recognised Liverpool's multi-competition dominance and the quality of football he and his coaching staff have cultivated, by honouring him with this award."

LMA Executive Committee member Sir Alex Ferguson CBE added: “Jürgen Klopp is without doubt one of the most talented managers of our generation. Season upon season he demonstrates his ability to excel in both domestic and European football.
"To have already won the FA and League cups, challenged Manchester City until the very last day of the Premier League season and to be facing Real Madrid this week in the Champions League Final, it’s little wonder that the LMA members have named Jürgen as their LMA Manager of the Year 2022. 

"I applaud not only the outstanding football he and his team deliver but also Jürgen’s fantastic man management skills and the culture he has instilled at Liverpool. Jürgen has built not just a team of talented footballers but a club family where his players and staff clearly care for all of those around them.
"Congratulations Jürgen!"
LMA Chief Executive Richard Bevan added: "Tonight we came together again at the Grosvenor House for the first time in three years to celebrate the achievements of all of our members across the elite six leagues of the men's and women's game.

"The LMA members voted Jürgen Klopp as a worthy winner of the Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy for the LMA Manager of the Year award, following an incredible season in all four major competitions.

"Members also commended the remarkable efforts of Emma Hayes OBE, Matt Beard, Marco Silva, Leam Richardson and Matt Taylor. Whilst Dr Sally Harris, Kath Phipps, Chris Ramsey MBE and Manisha Tailor MBE were worthy recipients of the LMA and Kick It Out's recognition.

"Finally, thank you to our awards partners Premier League, Castrol, Nike, and Thomas Lyte, who have supplied the stunning trophies for our managers to cherish."

The full list of LMA Annual Awards Winners 2020/21 is as follows:

The Sir Alex Ferguson trophy for the
LMA Manager of the Year:

Jürgen Klopp (Liverpool)

Premier League Manager of the Year sponsored by Barclays
Jürgen Klopp (Liverpool)

Barclays FA Women's Super League Manager of the Year:
Emma Hayes OBE (Chelsea)

The FA Women's Championship Manager of the Year:
Matt Beard (Liverpool)

Sky Bet Championship Manager of the Year:
Marco Silva (Fulham)

Sky Bet League One Manager of the Year:
Leam Richardson (Wigan Athletic)

Sky Bet League Two Manager of the Year:
Matt Taylor (Exeter City)

LMA Special Recognition Award
Dr Sally Harris (HCA Healthcare UK)

LMA Service to Football Award
Kath Phipps (Manchester United)

Kick It Out and Sky Inclusion Champion Award
Chris Ramsey MBE & Manisha Tailor MBE (QPR)