16 May 2016


The LMA members voted Claudio Ranieri as the clear winner of the LMA Manager of the Year for the 2015/16 season.  LMA President, Roy Hodgson presented Claudio with the association’s most prestigious award at the end of season LMA Annual Awards Dinner, in front of a 1000-strong audience of fellow managers, football stakeholders and LMA sponsors and friends.

The full list of LMA Annual Awards Winners 2015/16 is as follows

LMA Manager of the Year sponsored by Barclays: Claudio Ranieri (Leicester City)

Barclays Premier League Manager of the Year: Claudio Ranieri (Leicester City)

Sky Bet Championship Manager of the Year: Chris Hughton (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Sky Bet League One Manager of the Year: Gary Caldwell (Wigan Athletic)

Sky Bet League Two Manager of the Year: Chris Wilder (Northampton Town)

LMA Service to Football Award: Brian Lee MBE

LMA Special Achievement Award: Michael O'Neill (Northern Ireland)

LMA Chairman, Howard Wilkinson, said: "We gathered this evening to celebrate the accomplishments of our managers and coaches who have overseen one of the most competitive and entertaining seasons in recent years.Throughout the top four leagues, we have witnessed success against all odds and levels of excitement which have become synonymous with the English game.

"Tonight's winners are those who have demonstrated the ability to face and overcome the challenges of football management, we applaud those who have exceeded expectations and wish everyone the best of luck next season.

"My congratulations go to the LMA Manager of the Year sponsored by Barclays, Claudio Ranieri who, in his first year as manager of Leicester City, has achieved the most astonishing of sporting triumphs and thoroughly deserves all the recognition and praise being bestowed upon him tonight."

LMA Chief Executive, Richard Bevan, said: "On behalf of the LMA, many congratulations to the managers who have been recognised by their peers and received LMA Awards this evening.  We also congratulate all our members who have achieved their ambitions this season whatever the measure of success, be it promotion, securing their league status or exceeding expectations. 

"We are delighted to honour Claudio with the LMA Manager of the Year award in recognition of his Barclays Premier League title winning season with Leicester City, an inspiring story that has gripped the world.

"Leicester's achievement has been made possible by the tactical and technical knowledge of Claudio and his coaching staff. His passion for football, humility and charisma has underpinned an incredible ability to manage a team at the very highest level. He is a worthy champion and a true gentleman of the sport."


The LMA Manager of the Year Award sponsored by Barclays is voted for by all LMA members and goes to the manager who, in their opinion, has made the greatest use of the resources available to him in the current season within any club in the top four leagues of English football.

The Barclays Premier League Manager of the Year is decided by the Barclays Panel of Judges.

The Sky Bet Football League Awards are voted by all the managers in their respective divisions who take into account which of their direct competitors has made the greatest use of the resources available to him in the current season.

The LMA Service to Football Award is nominated by the LMA Board and is awarded for outstanding, long and meritorious service to the game.

The LMA Special Achievement Award is nominated by the LMA Board and is awarded for exception personal achievement during the current season.