Sir Alf Ramsey
Sir Alf

Sir Alf Ramsey (1955 - 1978)
One thing marks this man above all others – he is the ONLY manager to have led England to the greatest prize of all in football – The World Cup. His 1966 home-soil triumph is still the yardstick by which all England managers aspire to. A team of ‘wingless wonders' combined on a glorious July afternoon to beat the old enemy Germany 4-2 – meaning that no Hall of Fame would be complete without this man at its head.

At the age of 35, Ramsey began his managerial career with Ipswich Town , helping them to be promoted into Division 2 as Champions in 1956-57. After two seasons of consolidation in Division Two, Ipswich were again promoted as Champions in 1960-61 and just as he had done as a player with Spurs, Ramsey enjoyed immediate success in Division One, guiding The Blues to their first and only Championship title.

A success like that means one thing a call from your country, which he answered in 1963 when he took over as England manager. He remained in place until May 1974. His contribution to English football will never be forgotten, as he provided Ipswich Town and England with their greatest moments in the game and he was regarded as one of football's true gentlemen in what many see as the game's golden age.

Trophies Won
World Cup Winners (1966)
Division 1 League Champions (1962)
Division 2 League Champions (1961)
Division 3 League Champions (1957)

Significant Firsts
Only manager to have won the World Cup with and for England.

"Alf Ramsey gave all of us in the football business the greatest moment we have ever had as players, as coaches, as managers as fans and as officials. He was professional to his fingertips and as popular with the players as any manager I've ever seen. He was a winner and without Alf Ramsey England would not have won the World Cup in 1966. He gave us our proudest moment." - Bobby Charlton, Manchester United and England.

Key Players
Geoff Hurst, Bobby Charlton, Nobby Stiles, Bobby Moore, Gordon Banks, Jimmy Greaves, Martin Peters, Alan Ball.

Honours (4)
  • international-trophies
    • England:
      • FIFA World Cup Winners, (1965-01-01)
  • league-titles
    • Ipswich Town:
      • Football League Division One Champions, (1961-01-01)
      • Football League Division Two Champions, (1960-01-01)
      • Football League Division Three (South) Champions, (1956-01-01)
start date
Finish date