Ron Atkinson

Ron Atkinson is a member of the LMA Hall of Fame, having managed over 1000 games in porfessional football.

Atkinson, commonly known a "Big Ron" began his managerial career with Kettering Town in 1971. He soon experienced success winning the Southern League Division One North Title in 1971–72 then the Southern League Premier Division Title in 1972–73, as well as the Northants Senior Cup in 1972–73.

After his success with Kettering, Ron then joined Cambridge United and won the Fourth Division Title in 1976–77.

He then succeeded Ronnie Allen as manager of West Bromwich Albion in 1978. Atkinson made some notable signings, which included Brendon Batson and Cyrille Regis and during his time in charge he led to the club to The FA Cup semi-final, the UEFA Cup quarter finals and to sixth place in Division One.

He then guided The Baggies to third place in 1979-80 before he moved to Old Trafford to manage Manchester United in June 1981.

Again Ron made some key signings which included Bryan Robson, Alan Brazil and Gordon Strachan. He won The FA Cup with United in 1983 and 1985 beating Brighton and Everton in the Finals.

After managing Manchester United, Atkinson then returned to West Brom before managing in Spain with Atlético Madrid.

His managerial journey then took him to Sheffield Wednesday and Aston Villa where he would enjoy success winning the League Cup with both clubs and on both occassions beating Manchester United in the final.

He returned to Sheffield Wednesday after surpassing the 1000 game mark when manager of Coventry City. His last managerial position was at Nottingham Forest but most recently he returned to Kettering Town as Director of Football, having managed the club more than 30 years ago.

It was at the LMA Annual Awards Dinner in 2010 when Atkinson was officially inducted to the LMA Hall of Fame.

Honours (5)
  • personal-awards
    • Coventry City:
      • Inducted into LMA Hall of Fame 1000 Club, (2009-01-01)
  • domestic-trophies
    • Aston Villa:
      • League Cup Winners, (1994-03-27)
    • Sheffield Wednesday:
      • League Cup Winners, (1991-04-21)
    • Manchester United:
      • FA Cup Winners, (1983-05-21)
  • league-titles
    • Cambridge United:
      • Football League Division Four Champions, (1977-05-24)
start date
Finish date