Gary Waddock

Gary Waddock returned to Aldershot Town of the National League in May, 2016.

Previously, he was appointed assistant manager of Portsmouth on 12th December 2014. Waddock then became caretaker manager following Andy Awford's departure for the final 4 matches of the 2014-2015 season before Paul Cook's arrival to take over the helm.

Prior to that, he was manager of Oxford United.

Gary began his coaching career with QPR, taking responsibility for the reserve and youth team structure.

He also served as assistant manager and first team manager at the Championship club.

He was then appointed manager of Aldershot Town on May 19, 2007.

Following the appointment at Aldershot, Waddock enjoyed immediate success as he was voted the Non League Football Manager of the Season in 2008.

This was a result of him guiding the club to the Conference Premier Championship as well as the Conference League Cup.

Waddock followed up this success by consolidating the clubs position in Coca-Cola League Two in 2008/09. He left Aldershot with the club lying in 6th position League Two in October 2009, to take the managerial position at Adams Park.

In his first full season with the club (2010/11), Waddock secured promotion and returned Wycombe to League One at the first attempt. Gary remained with the club until September 2012.

Prior to joining MK Dons as Head of Coaching, Waddock had been working for the Premier League by monitoring a number of clubs and their progress following the introduction of the Elite Player Performance Plan (EPPP).

As a player, Gary made over 500 senior appearances with spells at QPR, Luton Town, Millwall, Bristol Rovers and at Charleroi (Belgium). Additionally, he made 21 international appearances for the Republic of Ireland.

Honours (4)
  • promotions
    • Wycombe Wanderers:
      • Promotion to npower League One, (2011-05-22)
    • Aldershot:
      • Promotion to Coca Cola League Two, (2008-05-25)
  • personal-awards
    • Aldershot:
      • Non League Football Manager of the Season, (2008-05-30)
  • domestic-trophies
    • Aldershot:
      • Setanta Shield, (2008-04-03)
start date
Finish date