20 May 2013


At the 21st Annual Awards Dinner hosted at the historic Old Billingsgate, London, Sir Alex Ferguson CBE was honoured with the prestigious LMA Manager of the Year Award. The award, sponsored by Barclays, is voted by LMA members, including all the managers from the top four professional leagues in English football.

In winning this award, Sir Alex Ferguson has now been named the LMA Manager of the Year for a record fourth time.

Ferguson has earned the award in recognition of Manchester United’s excellent season including winning his 13th Barclays Premier League title. This achievement secured his 36th major trophy during his 26 year reign at Old Trafford, and is a fitting tribute in another fantastic year which also sees his retirement from football management.

In an outstanding campaign, Ferguson guided his side to 28 wins in their 38 league games recording the 20th league title in the overall history of the Club. This feat also earned him the accolade of Barclays Premier League Manager of the Year.

LMA Chairman, Howard Wilkinson, said: “There is no doubt that the LMA Annual Awards are perceived as the most accurate measure of a manager’s ability because there are no better judges of your performance than your peers.

“Finding words to adequately describe the monumental levels of achievement and the indelible legacy Sir Alex Ferguson leaves in the game, is nigh on impossible. This evening’s award adds yet another record to that list, making him the only person to secure the much coveted LMA Manager of the Year Award, for a fourth time. David Moyes, his choice of successor to the Old Trafford throne, has won it three times and I know that Sir Alex will hope and believe that David goes on to equal and surpass the new record.”

Richard Bevan, Chief Executive of the LMA, said: “Tonight is a celebration of this season’s managerial achievements across the top four leagues in the professional game. Massive congratulations are due to all award winners this evening as to receive votes from and to be acknowledged by your fellow managers and competitors is a great honour. 

“It is entirely appropriate that Sir Alex should win the LMA Manager of the Year for a record fourth time following his recent retirement announcement. As he retires as the most successful manager in the history of the British game we congratulate him on a magnificent career spanning over 40 years and more than 2150 matches in football management, with achievements the likes of which we will never see again. 

“I would also like to say a special thank you to all the members who have contributed to yet another fantastic season.”

The full list of awards presented on the evening is as follows:

• LMA Manager of the Year sponsored by Barclays – Sir Alex Ferguson CBE, Manchester United
• LMA Special Merit Award sponsored by Barclays – Roberto Di Matteo
• LMA Special Merit Award sponsored by npower – Phil Parkinson, Bradford City
• LMA Service to Football Award sponsored by npower – John Bowler, Crewe Alexandra
• Barclays Premier League Manager of the Year – Sir Alex Ferguson CBE, Manchester United
• npower Football League Championship Manager of the Year – Malky Mackay, Cardiff City
• npower Football League 1 Manager of the Year – Gary Johnson, Yeovil Town
• npower Football League 2 Manager of the Year – Martin Allen, Gillingham
• Budweiser FA Cup Manager of the Year – Roberto Martinez, Wigan Athletic
• LMA 1000 Club inductees – Roy Hodson and Lawrie McMenemy MBE